Essential guide to the 2017 Tour de Yorkshire: teams, route and sportive

March 23rd, 2017   |   Posted in Tour De Yorkshire   |   No Comments

The 2017 Tour de Yorkshire is set to take place from Friday 28th to Sunday 30th April, while the women’s event is a single day race on Saturday 29th and the mass participation sportive will be held on the final day of the weekend.

Coming off the back of the Tour de France‘s visit to England’s largest county back in 2014, the Tour de Yorkshire is a legacy event that has proved very popular with roadside crowds over its short two-year history.

The 2017 event will be the race’s third edition as it solidifies its place in the professional cycling calendar.

Tour de Yorkshire 2017: Teams

The 18 men’s and 18 women’s teams that will be competing at the 2017 Tour de Yorkshire have been revealed.

The line-up in the men’s race is a mix of WorldTour and Pro Continental teams, which usually makes for exciting racing as the lower tier riders head out in the breaks to shake things up.

Team Sky have a good record at the race, taking the overall win in 2015 and only just missing a repeat victory in 2016. Fan favourite Thomas Voeckler (Direct Energie) was the victor in 2016 and he has stated his intention of returning to defend his title.

The women’s startline will include many teams making their debuts, including Dame Sarah Storey’s newly-founded squad.

Men’s Teams Women’s Teams
BMC Racing Drops Cycling
Team Sky Boels-Dolmans
Katusha-Alpecin Hitec Products
Orica-Scott Team Sunweb
Team Sunweb Ale Cipollini Galassia
Dimension Data Canyon-SRAM
Direct Energie Cyclance Pro
LottoNL-Jumbo Wiggle-High5
Cofidis Bepink-Cogeas
Aqua Blue Sport FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
Delko Marseille Provence KTM Ford EcoBoost
Roompot NL Loterij Jadan Weldtite
Raliegh-GAC Cervelo Bigla
Bike Channel Canyon Lares-Waowdeals
One Pro Fusion RT Fierlan
Team GB Storey Sport
JLT-Condor NCC Group-Kuota-Torelli
Madison-Genesis Team WNT